

LakeSmart 2023

Living lightly on the land for the sake of our lakes



LakeSmart is a first-in-the-nation lake resilience program, driven by dedicated community-based volunteers who educate lakeshore homeowners about protecting the water quality of their lake. Volunteers are trained to evaluate properties from the top of the driveway to the shoreline using LakeSmart climate-ready standards for water quality protection. They also recommend lake-friendly practices to homeowners to manage runoff and erosion. The LakeSmart Award sign recognizes homeowners of properties that are most protective of their lake.

2023 Impact Snapshot

- 274 LakeSmart Evaluations were completed at 60 lakes from May to October
 - LakeSmart Awards were presented to homeowners of properties that met lake-friendly standards. Over half of this year's Awards were earned by homeowners as a result of second evaluations and after the installation of best management practices that protected the lake and met LakeSmart standards.
 - LakeSmart Awardees were also recognized with the Loon Smart Merit Award for adopting practices that protect loons, loon habitat, and loon productivity.



New Evaluator and "Refresher" Trainings were offered by Maine Lakes from York to Aroostook County

Thanks to the 2023 LakeSmart Volunteers

Volunteers are the foundation of the LakeSmart Program. In 2023, 118 Evaluators and Coordinators donated over 1,225 hours to the program, valued at \$35,448*

Jan Arminio Ron Armontrout Whitney Baker **Sherry Barstow** Gareth Bowen **Elaine Bradbury Doug Bradley** Chris Brink Frank Brooks Ursula Burke Malcolm Burson Kathy Cain Sue Carrington **Chad Casey Deb Caver** Jim Chandler

Stuart Cole
Ed Conery
Emlyn Crocker
Mel Croft
John Curtin
Laurie Curtis
Genny Davis
Dave Davis

Larry Clark

Maya Deming
Paul DeOrsay
Anne D'Errico
William Dexter
Ann Dolbear
Jade Doyle
Martha Drew
Dave Durrenberger
John Eliasberg
Ginger Eliasberg
Marvin Ellison

Laurie Fenwood George Fergusson Jack Foster Karyn Franks Lynn Geiger

Cynthia Giguere

Sarah Gladu

Sarah Fagg

Jim Fenwood

Ed Glasheen Bridget Grenier

Rand Griffin

Jim Guzelian Kim Hallee

Dave Hallee

Hobart Hardei

Michael Heskanen

Jack Hinkley

Alison Hoar

Bobbi Hoffman

Jack Holland David Infascelli

Win Joy

Lisa Kane

Doug Kavanaugh

Erika Kerr

Pat Koscinski

Steve Krautkremer

Beth Lacey

Jennifer Lacombe

Roy Lambert

Peter LaPolice

Tom Larned Sandy Larned

Victor Lerish

Brian Levesque

Dana Little

Dalla Little

Monica Mahoney

Pamela McKenney

Catherine Meikle

Katie Merrow

Jim Moody

Jane Moosbruker

Julia Morin

Julia Morili

Patricia Nease

Candace Nelson

Maria O'Rourke

Stephanie Parker

Betsy Peterson

Elaine Philbrook

Diane Ray

- Lanc Ray

Cindy Ripley Cheryl Robertson

Kevin Ronan

Kate Ryan

Russ Sabia

Hugh Savage Donald Schassberger

Lorry Schwellenbach

Jen Small

Cheryl St. Peter

Mark Steeler

Mark Steeler

Medea Steinman Riley Stevenson

Alan Stinchfield

Elizabeth Stockwood

Bill Tiernan

Gerry Tinguely

Susan Tinguely

Janna Townsend

Beth Trehu

Tim Trumbauer

Allen Unrein

Barbara (BJ) Warner

Judy Ingram Watson

Clara Whitney

Nancy Whyte

Pat Williams

Michele Windsor

Angela Wotton

John Yindra

John Zacker

Rent Etaluator Training, Bear Politi, Cultural (Photo A. Stevens)

^{*}Independent Sector Value of Volunteer Hour in Maine